Teens and college students in Pittsburgh and throughout Pennsylvania often find themselves in big time trouble if they are busted with a fake ID. When alcohol is involved, and it usually is, coupling fake ID charges and alcohol charges can lead to serious marks on a young person’s record. And Pennsylvania authorities do not take these types of crimes lightly, even in areas built around colleges. A conviction for underage drinking and a possession of a fake ID can be seriously detrimental to your son or daughter and it can even lead to his or her expulsion from school, directly affecting their future more ways than they can probably understand right now. In this blog, we have put together a good bit of information that pertains to fake ID laws and what can happen to young people who are charged and convicted of ID fraud. There are several different types of crimes that fall in connection with fake ID laws. Those crimes include: misrepresentation of age to purchase liquor or malt or brewed beverages (18 Pa. C.S. § 6307), manufacture or sale of false identification card (18 Pa. C.S. § 6310.2), and carrying a false ID (18 Pa. C.S. § 6310.3). Criminal charges associated fraudulent identifications include falsely representing yourself to be 21 or older for the purpose of purchasing alcohol; having an ID with a fake name, age, or birth date that indicates you are 21 or older; obtaining or attempting to obtain alcohol by using another person’s ID who is 21 or older; or creating, altering, or selling a fake ID Pennsylvania lawmakers and upholders to do not go lightly on people who are busted with fake IDs. Penalties for fake ID crimes below have been separated by the type of crime and the number of offenses of that crime. Misrepresentation of age to purchase liquor or malt or brewed beverages First Offense Summary offense 90-day license suspension Potential jail time: 90 days maximum Second Offense Misdemeanor – 3rd degree 2-year license suspension Potential jail time: 1 year maximum Fine up to $500 Third Offense Misdemeanor – 3rd degree 2-year license suspension Potential jail time: 1 year maximum Fine up to $500 Manufacture or sale of false identification card Misdemeanor – 2nd degree Minimum fine: $1,000 for first offense, $2,500 for each subsequent violation Potential jail time: 2 year maximum Carrying a false identification card (if you are under 18, the arresting police department must notify your parents) First Offense Summary offense 90-day license suspension Potential jail time: 90 day maximum Second Offense Misdemeanor – 3rd degree 1-year license suspension Fine up to $500 Potential jail time: 1 year maximum Third or Subsequent Offense Misdemeanor – 3rd degree 2-year license suspension Fine up to $500 Potential jail time: 1 year maximum Student’s in today’s world face new challenges in regard to finding gainful employment after they graduate from college and even graduate school. With a fake ID arrest on his or her record, this can limit their potential. Criminal background checks can be found at almost every level of employment now because the technology is there for companies to use. By simply paying a fine and serving the probationary sentence without consulting an attorney, you are putting yourself and your future at risk, especially if the fake ID infraction is coupled with an underage alcohol-related offense. By agreeing to pay the fine, you are essentially saying “I’m guilty,” and once the court gets its money, they don’t care about you or your future anymore. If you or your son or daughter has been arrested for possessing a fake ID to obtain alcohol, the advice of a fraudulent identification attorney is essential as you move through this difficult time in your life. Call Pittsburgh juvenile crimes lawyer Gary Gerson today for a free consultation at 412-219-6875 . Mr. Gerson will walk you through the steps that need to be taken to ensure a sound defense and will help you to be confident that your future will be protected from a mistake you made as a very young adult.