More than one DUI in PA?
Drunk driving penalties in Pennsylvania are some of the harshest in the country. As a criminal defense lawyer in Pittsburgh, I’m get asked a lot about those penalties and how someone who is convicted will be affected in the long run. It can be difficult to find this information, especially for multiple drunk driving offenders, and even those who work within the criminal justice system can be unsure of the penalties associated with drunk driving charges because of the nature of each person’s distinct scenario. As a result of this lack knowledge that should be common and readily available, I have put together the second part of our DUI blog series for potential clients and fellow Pennsylvanians who would like to familiarize themselves with drunk driving laws and penalties. I have broken down each different drunk driving charge the same way the law them down. If you have questions about something you read here today, or have any other drunk driving questions, call The Law Offices of Gary E. Gerson today for a free consultation. All of the following information about drunk driving arrests is relevant within a ten year period. This post will be about second, third, and fourth offenses. If you are arrested for DUI more than once, the penalties are worse depending on BAC levels and other conditions. A second and consecutive DUI with a BAC level of .08% – .10% is considered an ungraded misdemeanor and carries with it six months of probation, a $300 fine, attendance to Alcohol Highway Safety School (AHSS), and a full drug and alcohol assessment. A second and consecutive DUI with a BAC level of .10% – .15% is an ungraded misdemeanor and carries with it jail time of at least five days and up to six months, fines of up to $2500, AHSS attendance, twelve month suspension of your driver’s license, and a full drug and alcohol assessment. A second and consecutive DUI with a BAC over .16% requires between ten days and two years of jail time, a maximum $5000 fine, AHSS attendance, loss of driving privileges for one year, and a mandatory drug and alcohol assessment. If you have any questions about what you’ve read, or any other questions pertaining to drunk driving charges, please call Pittsburgh DUI lawyer Gary Gerson today at (412) 281-3380 for a free consultation.