Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Pittsburgh Criminal Lawyer > Pittsburgh License Penalty Lawyer

Pittsburgh License Penalty Lawyer

Under 75 Pa.C.S.A. 1543 (a), anyone operating a vehicle on a road in Pennsylvania while their driver’s license has been suspended, revoked, or cancelled and not yet restored, is guilty of a summary offense and, it if is their first conviction, must pay a fine of $200.Under 75 Pa.C.S.A. 6503, a mandatory fine of no less than $200 and no more than $1,000 may be imposed. In addition to a fine, imprisonment for no more than 6 months may also be imposed for a second, third, fourth, or fifth offense if you are caught driving while your motor vehicle operating privileges have been suspended or revoked. You may also suffer from second, third, fourth, or fifth offense consequences if you are arrested for racing, fleeing police in pursuit, or operating your vehicle without lights in an attempt to avoid arrest

Six or More Driving Offenses on a Suspended License

If you are pulled over, arrested, and convicted of a sixth or subsequent driving offense while operating your vehicle under suspension, revocation, or cancellation, you will be sentenced to pay a mandatory fine of no less than $1,000 and serve mandatory jail time of no less than 30 days and no more than 6 months.

Driving Suspensions as Related to DUI or DAI

Any person convicted of driving a vehicle on a highway in Pennsylvania while operating privileges have been suspended or revoked because of a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving After Imbibing (DAI) conviction in Pennsylvania; or a conviction for a “substantially similar” offense to DUI or DAI in another state; or refusing to submit to a chemical test of breath or blood to determine alcoholic content or the presence of a controlled substance, will be sentenced to pay a fine of $500 and undergo imprisonment for not less than 60 nor more than 90 days depending upon the level of alcohol or presence of controlled substances.

  • When the amount of alcohol by weight in blood is equal to or greater than .02% at the time of testing, or any amount of Schedule I or non-prescribed Scheduled II or III controlled substance is present in blood, a 1 st conviction will be a summary offense requiring a mandatory fine of $1,000 and mandatory imprisonment for not less than 90 days.

  • A 2nd violation is graded as a Misdemeanor of the Third Degree for which a conviction will result in a mandatory sentence that includes a fine of $2,500 and mandatory imprisonment for not less than 6 months nor more than 12 months.

  • A 3rd or subsequent violation is graded as a Misdemeanor of the First Degree for which a conviction will result in a mandatory sentence that includes a fine of $5,000 and imprisonment for not less than 2 years nor more than 5 years.

Charged with DUI? Let me fight for you! Call the criminal defense Law Offices of Gary E. Gerson at 412-219-6875.

For a lawyer who knows how to seek the best possible solution to your legal problems, contact our Pittsburgh law firm, The Law Offices of Gary E. Gerson.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Our Location

Map Location 304 Ross Street, Suite 600
Pittsburgh PA 15219
local 412-219-6875 toll free 866-791-3969 Get Directions

Request a Consultation

Contact Us Today!
* All Fields Required Contacting The Law Offices of Gary E. Gerson through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information sent is not protected by attorney-client privilege.