Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Firm Name Pittsburgh Criminal Lawyer
  • Free Confidential Consultation

What happens when you’re arrested for marijuana

Marijuana drug charges in Colorado and Washington no longer exist as those states have decided to change their laws concerning the drug. The rest of the country, however, still has strict laws against the possession and sale and distribution of marijuana. In Pennsylvania, it is illegal to possess and/or sell what the criminal justice system refers to as “controlled substances.” Drugs that fall under the term “controlled substance” include cocaine, crack, methamphetamines, opiates, marijuana, and other similar drugs. In addition, it is illegal to make drugs like cocaine or cultivate and grow drugs such as marijuana. Drug charges can carry significant jail time and thousands in fines. If you’ve been arrested on drug charges, call Gary Gerson today. As mentioned, a drug possession or distribution conviction usually includes heavy fines, marks on your permanent criminal record, and jail time (depending on the amount). If you are arrested and are facing criminal charges, it is imperative that you secure a quality criminal defense attorney such as Gary Gerson. It’s important to understand that convictions for drug possession can vary a great deal depending on the type of drug and how much of the drug is found. Penalties for possession and distribution can range from small fines and a short probation period to many years in a federal penitentiary. For this blog, we will be covering the different types of penalties that Pennsylvanians can receive from the possession and/or distribution of marijuana. There are more marijuana arrests in PA than any other drug and multiple convictions or sale to a minor can double your fines and jail terms. If you have questions, click here to contact The Law Offices of Gary E. Gerson and set up a free preliminary consultation. There are two primary possession laws of distinction. If you are arrested and charged with possession of marijuana and you have less than thirty grams, then you can be charged with a misdemeanor and receive a maximum penalty of thirty days in jail and/or a $500 fine. If you are arrested and charged with possession of more than thirty grams of marijuana, then it is still considered a misdemeanor, but the maximum penalty goes up to one year in jail and/or a $5000 fine. There are also two primary sale or distribution laws of note. If you are arrested and charged for selling or distributing less than thirty grams of marijuana, it is considered a misdemeanor and the maximum sentence is 30 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. The fine amount and jail time can be increased for amounts of more than thirty grams and less than two pounds and are generally up to the discretion of the judge, as multiple factors can come into play. If you’re arrested with anywhere between two and ten pounds of marijuana, it is considered a felony and you can face a maximum penalty of one year in jail and/or a $5000 fine. The penalty for more than ten pounds is considerable. If you have been arrested for marijuana possession or distribution, call Attorney Gary E. Gerson today at 412-219-6875.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation